Funeral Service Association of Canada / Association des services funéraires du Canada

Award of Merit / Prix d'excellence

This award has been given out over the years to honor those individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to funeral service in Canada. The plaque in the past has read:

"for outstanding contributions to the enhancement of the Canadian funeral profession throughout a distinguished career in funeral service"

Nominate a deserving funeral professional!

Nominations are being accepted until January 31.  


Award of Merit 


  • National focus
  • Long history of contributions to funeral service in Canada
  • Not limited to one person
  • Does not have to be given out every year (originally stated “will be given out from time to time”)


This award was initiated in January of 1999 by a Motion of the Board of Directors to honor individuals from time to time.

Past Recipients:

1999 C. William Bowes 2008 Robert Scott
2000 Gilles Poirier2009 Mike Meyer
2001 Susan MacKinnon2010 Jerry Smolyk
2002 Lorne Kelly2011 A. John Doyle
2003 Marlin Foist2012 Allan Bailey
2004 Robert Greschuk2013 Allan Cole
2005 Geoff Carnell2014 No Recipient
2006 Brian McGarry2015 Sheila Nunn and Daniel Scanlan (co-recipients awarded posthumously)
2007 Charles Curry 2016 Jean Garneau 

800-1730 boul St. Laurent Blvd
Ottawa, ON K1G 3Y7

Phone: 613-505-0277
Fax: 613-505-0277

© 2016 The Funeral Service Association of Canada. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software